Council appoints community members to the Roads Advisory Committee (amended)
December 14, 2018

Four community members will play a role in helping improve our roads after Councillors approved their appointment to the Colac Otway Roads Advisory Committee at the Ordinary Council meeting last night.

The new committee members, who live in Forrest, Apollo Bay, Colac and Murroon, will represent the Colac Otway community on the committee, providing comment and feedback to Council in relation to strategic management of Council’s road assets.

Mayor Jason Schram congratulated Michael Harrison, Nasser Kotb, Gavin Brien and Chris White on their appointment to the Colac Otway Roads Advisory Committee saying it provided a great opportunity for them to work with road authority representatives and provide input from the community on improving the road network.

“As a Council, we’re focussed on improving roads in our shire. The appointment of these community members to the Colac Otway Roads Committee is a great example of how Council is working hard to engage and gather feedback from our communities on how we can do things better,” he said.

“Our roads are a significant issue for residents and ratepayers in Colac Otway Shire, we all need a safe and reliable road network from a social and economic point of view and to maintain growth in our region.

“Colac Otway Shire Council is responsible for maintenance of 557 kilometres of sealed roads, 1,014 kilometres of gravel roads and a further 48 kilometres of formed roads, the appointment of the community to the Colac Otway Roads Advisory Committee means more contributions from more areas of the shire helping Council improve our road network.

“Council’s Services and Operations team do a great job and community involvement on the committee will play an important role supporting Council in the maintenance of our roads.

Council reviewed its Road Management Plan earlier in the year, which included increasing the frequency of road inspections.

Community representatives will be joined on the committee by all Councillors, Mayor Jason Schram as chairperson, appointed Council officers, invited representatives from emergency service agencies, VicRoads and industry representatives.



Alison Martin     (03) 5232 9464    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

apollo bay radio